About Licensing

Professional licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing, Board of Realty Regulation Division. The summary of requirements below is provided as a service and is not intended nor is it represented to cover all requirements. For more information, go to Board of Realty Regulation for real estate brokerage and property management. For more information about real estate appraisal, go to Board of Real Estate Appraisers

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE — BROKERAGE AND SALES

In Montana, real estate licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry through the Montana Board of Realty Regulation. In addition to other age and education requirements, those who want to practice real estate in Montana are required to attend 60 hours of classroom instruction and pass an exam to be issued a real estate salesperson’s license. Those newly licensed must attend a “Rookie Class” during the same calendar year in which they are licensed. Courses are held at various locations throughout the state during the year. Candidates for broker’s license must complete an additional 60 hours of classroom instruction as well as meet other qualifying criteria.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE RENEWAL– BROKERAGE AND SALES

Montana statute requires that real estate licensees attend 12 hours of continuing education each calendar year. The Montana Board of Realty Regulation issues licenses and monitors compliance with the education requirement. Each year they determine the areas of training for which relicensing credits will be issued. To renew your license online, click here and choose “Professional Licensees.” You will need your PIN and REALTOR® license number.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE–PROPERTY MANAGEMENT

In Montana, property management licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing Board of Realty Regulation. In addition to other age and education requirements, those who want to manage property in Montana are required to attend 30 hours of pre-licensure education covering topics like Montana Landlord Tenant Act, federal and state fair housing laws, Americans with Disabilities Act, state licensing laws and rules and others.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE RENEWAL–PROPERTY MANAGEMENT

Montana statute requires that property management licenses complete a minimum of 12 hours of Board of Realty Regulation approved property management education each year.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE–APPRAISAL

In Montana, appraisal licensure is administered by the Department of Labor and Industry Board of Real Estate Appraisers. In addition to 2000 hours of appraisal experience over a period of not less than 18 months, licensure requires 90 classroom hours of education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing.

REQUIREMENTS OF CERTIFICATION–APPRAISAL

In Montana, appraisal certification is administered by the Department of Labor and Industry Board of Real Estate Appraisers. Certification can be either residential certification or general. In addition to 2500 hours of appraisal experience over a period of not less than 24 months, residential certification requires 120 classroom hours of education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing. General certification requires 180 hours of classroom education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing with 3000 hours of appraisal experience obtained continuously over a period of not less than 30 months.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE OR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL–APPRAISAL

Montana statute requires that appraisers provide evidence of having completed at least 45 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the Board of Real Estate Appraisal with every third renewal. At least 15 hours must be related to the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice which requires an examination. Renewal is by March 31 each year.

ROOKIE COURSE MATERIALS – JULY 2015

Here are materials for the Rookie Course scheduled for July 16-17 at the Doubletree in Missoula:
Nuts and Bolts
Agency and Forms
Rookie Sales
Title Insurance
Rookie Forms Workbook