Professional licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing, Board of Realty Regulation Division. The summary of requirements below is provided as a service and is not intended nor is it represented to cover all requirements. For more information, go to Board of Realty Regulation for real estate brokerage and property management. For more information about real estate appraisal, go to Board of Real Estate Appraisers
Requirements for license — brokerage and sales
In Montana, real estate licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry through the Montana Board of Realty Regulation. In addition to other age and education requirements, those who want to practice real estate in Montana are required to attend 60 hours of classroom instruction and pass an exam to be issued a real estate salesperson’s license. Those newly licensed must attend a “Rookie Class” during the same calendar year in which they are licensed. Courses are held at various locations throughout the state during the year. Candidates for broker’s license must complete an additional 60 hours of classroom instruction as well as meet other qualifying criteria.
Requirements for license renewal– brokerage and sales
Montana statute requires that real estate licensees attend 12 hours of continuing education each calendar year. The Montana Board of Realty Regulation issues licenses and monitors compliance with the education requirement. Each year they determine the areas of training for which relicensing credits will be issued. You can renew online by following the link and instructions on the BRR site.
Requirements for license–property management
In Montana, property management licenses are administered by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing Board of Realty Regulation. In addition to other age and education requirements, those who want to manage property in Montana are required to attend 30 hours of pre-licensure education covering topics like Montana Landlord Tenant Act, federal and state fair housing laws, Americans with Disabilities Act, state licensing laws and rules and others.
Requirements for license renewal–property management
Montana statute requires that property management licenses complete a minimum of 12 hours of Board of Realty Regulation approved property management education each year.
Requirements for license–appraisal
In Montana, appraisal licensure is administered by the Department of Labor and Industry Board of Real Estate Appraisers. In addition to 2000 hours of appraisal experience over a period of not less than 18 months, licensure requires 90 classroom hours of education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing.
Requirements of certification–appraisal
In Montana, appraisal certification is administered by the Department of Labor and Industry Board of Real Estate Appraisers. Certification can be either residential certification or general. In addition to 2500 hours of appraisal experience over a period of not less than 24 months, residential certification requires 120 classroom hours of education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing. General certification requires 180 hours of classroom education, 15 of which must cover Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 15 hours which must cover report writing with 3000 hours of appraisal experience obtained continuously over a period of not less than 30 months.
Requirements for license or certification renewal–appraisal
Montana statute requires that appraisers provide evidence of having completed at least 45 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the Board of Real Estate Appraisal with every third renewal. At least 15 hours must be related to the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice which requires an examination. Renewal is by March 31 each year.
Board of Realty Regulations
All test scores may be scaled and equated for the specific examination by the testing agency that provides or administers the examination. Prior to applying for a license, candidates must take a board-approved examination scheduled through the testing agency and make a passing score as determined by a psychometrically sound, criterion-related method associated with assessment of minimal competence. The method used shall be published prior to the administration of the examination.
Real Estate Education –
1) All new sales licensees are required to complete the board-mandated new licensee mandatory continuing education requirement, commonly known as the 12-hour rookie course, within 120 days following their original license issue date. If no rookie course is offered within the 120-day period, the new licensee must complete the class when the class is next offered after the 120-day period unless, at the board’s discretion, it is extended for good cause. Only live in-person presentations of the rookie course will be approved by the board. No online or webinar rookie courses are appropriate.
2) For the first licensing year only, the rookie course will substitute for a salesperson’s regular continuing education. The regular 12-hour continuing education requirement begins with the second year of licensing.
3) All licensees are required to submit the renewal form and renewal fee by the date set by ARM 24.101.413 and each renewal date thereafter.
Each active licensee is required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing real estate education every licensing year. The licensing year is from November 1 through October 31.
Property Management Education – New property management licensees are required to complete 12 hours of property management continuing education by the second renewal date following their original license issue date. Two of the hours must consist of courses in property management trust accounts.
After satisfactorily completing NEW LICENSE CE (by second renewal), property manager licensees may satisfy continuing education courses approved by the board, whether designated as property management education or not.
Broker – Each broker licensee is required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing real estate education every licensing year. The licensing year is from November 1 through October 31.
Supervising Broker – A supervising broker endorsement will be issued to any broker completing the supervising broker pre-endorsement course. Each licensing year, a supervising broker must complete 12 hours of continuing education. Four (4) of those hours must be board-approved education in the area of supervising broker continuing education as designated by the BRR.
Lookup Reported Continuing Education Credits
Board of Realty Regulation: Lookup Credits
Missoula Organization of REALTORS: Lookup Certificates (Information will already be submitted to BRR)
To look up what classes may be coming up in different areas: http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/rre